Philippines Destruction

My heart breaks.  My stomach aches.  I feel like i’m going to vomit all over my computer.

I can’t handle knowing the grounds I have walked, the people I have met.  I see the sweet faces of the little children, widows, parents; My friends.  Tears are falling as I think of all the thousands that have died because of one of the worst storms ever recorded.  Because of Typhoon “Hayian” over 10,000 people have died in just one area.

Troops that have gone out to help in remote areas are even having a hard time getting to the people because of of debris and all the destruction.

There is no clean water, no electricity.

Image

Typhoon Haiyan – one of the most powerful storms on record to make landfall – swept through six central Philippine islands on Friday.

It brought sustained winds of 235km/h (147mph), with gusts of 275 km/h (170 mph), with waves as high as 15m (45ft), bringing up to 400mm (15.75 inches) of rain in places.

Image

It makes me so sad because people are hurt, dead, trapped with no where to go.  They are starved of hunger and there is nothing in their helplessness they can do themselves.  I am strongly praying because that is the BEST I can do.  I want them to know that no matter what happens to them, their family or friends that they are greatly LOVED by Jesus.  There is no hope other than Jesus who will eternally save them from their hunger and thirst.

Image

Please pray for the Philippines for our God heals and restores and even when we, as humans, can’t do it all and feel incompetent know that the most we can do is shout out to to our God who loves, heals, and restores the broken.

This entry was posted in Faith, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

