Breathe deep- Why do you live?

“I breathe you in, God
Cause you are there all around me.
When I don’t understand I will choose to love you God.” –These are a few words from the song I am currently listening to called “I breathe you in, God”, by Bryan and Katie Torwaelt.  I shut my eyes and breathe in deep listening to the lyrics.  It’s a beautiful song if you haven’t ever heard it.

Breathing in and out deeply and listening to this song reminded me of a few different things.  It brought me back to about a year and a half ago when I found out that my body was so stressed out physically, emotionally and mentally that it began giving up on me.  I noticed weird symptoms and didn’t feel like myself.  I had lost a lot of weight (not on purpose) even when I was eating a lot and exercising like normal so I thought I should be completely fine.  I should be superwoman, right?  I can be a hairdresser, a personal trainer, a friend, a familiy member, a volunteer.  I thought I could do it all.  But apparently my body could only take so much.  I was tired.

Through this experience my life changed.  I moved from my favorite place living by the beach in Southern California where I was living my dream (seriously.)  Then I took off around the world with a backpack and tent to travel all around the world with others to serve.  We did anything we could.  This experience changed my life.  It made me want to use my gifts for a different reason.  Why am I a hairdresser?  Because there is nothing better than helping someone feel and look good about themselves on the inside and outside.  Why am I in the health industry?  Because I love our bodies.  We are made so intricately and we need to care for it the way it was intended through food, exercise, and balance in life.  Why am I a barista?  Because I want to be around people.  I want to brighten up someones day even if I know nothing was going on in their life.  

I now look at why I live my life in a different way.  I don’t really live for myself.  I want to use the gifts God gave me to bring up someone else, whatever that looks like.

I have been praying for a while about how I can use my experiences through stress and how it affects everyone to bring awareness and to encourage others in a healthy, balanced lifestyle.  

Image

After getting back from traveling I had some back problems.  I began doing yoga a lot more regularly and surprisingly it has been helping to heal my back, make me feel stronger, leaner, and takes away my stress and anxiety!  I used to HATE yoga.  Now I love it.  I began thinking about whether I should get yoga certified.  I want to help people with their stress because I have been there myself and know what it does to you physically, emotionally, and mentally.

A few weeks ago I attended a women’s event where I met a sweet lady who is a yoga instructor.  Not just any yoga I might add.  YOGA FAITH!  I was so curious what this meant.  Well, I know many people being so turned off by yoga for all sorts of reasons.  Yoga is so good for the body, for the balance of life, for the stretching and healing it does on our bodies and our minds in this crazy life that we live that is filled with busyness and chaos.God gave us a body intended to care for.  I thank Him for the body that I have every day.  Imagine not having a leg, a mouth, a thumb (it’s hard to live without these limbs!)  

Image

This is me in the yoga faith class!

What is better than stretching, strengthening your core body, feeling more rejuvenated, energized and being able to praise God for it at the same time!?  I got to experience my first yoga faith class a couple weeks ago and now I know this is what I want to do as another way to help people to discover a new way of stress-relief.  Stress in all areas of life and letting things go to God.  Because He will take it all, we don’t need to hold onto it.  I can then take this anywhere I go.  Here in the states as well as around the world to other countries!

So I am happy to say that I am getting certified in order to do so!  =)  

Please check out http://www.yogafaith.org if you’d like more info as well!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breathe deep- Why do you live?

  1. Doris says:

    ahh I loved this post. I love your writing!!

Leave a Reply

