I have a Craving

“Saying “it’s not fair” has caused many to toss aside knowing what is right for the temporary thrill of whatever it is that does seem fair.”

How many times have we done something that later regretted? You gave into something that seemed fair in the moment because everyone else was doing it, or you deserved it. Or maybe felt bad about yourself, your self esteem, and you beat yourself up.  “UGHHHH, why did I do that?”

Everyone has CRAVINGS.  Now, what we crave may be different.  Some may crave food, desserts, alcohol, coffee, exercise, recognition, success, etc.  

I used to say that I didn’t have an addictive personality because I can easily put a good book down and don’t feel the NEED to read it all the time, I never drank excessively, one glass of wine and I can put it down, I don’t watch much TV, I don’t eat excessive amounts, so I am not addicted to anything right?  

Not necessarily.  

“Everything is permissible, but not everything is beneficial.”

Think of all the things you do on a daily basis.  

I had a friend tell me about a time she went into a convenience store at night and got talking to the cashier.  She asked him whether he meets some interesting people there.  He goes on to tell her about the fascinating observation of each person who has their routine of coming in daily/nightly for their exact same fix of candy, beer, cigarettes, or bag of chips.  

Each person has an addiction whether we think so or not.  It becomes a part of everyday life.  

It’s just what we do.

I work at Starbucks as “one of my jobs” and of course we have our regulars customers.  Most baristas know our customers by their drink because it’s a daily occurrence. Is it the need for coffee, or the routine of what you do? I am not saying coffee is bad/good for you but  again…

“Everything is permissible, but not everything is beneficial.”

Now, my question to you is what do YOU crave?

Maybe you are not sure of what your “craving” or “addiction” is…………

Think about what/who you run to first when you are happy?  When you are sad?  When you are frustrated? Anxious? 

Do you call your best friend, do you run to alcohol, to your favorite chocolate, or hamburger?  

These cravings unknowingly, by giving them power, will consume your thoughts, redirect your actions, and demand your worship.  

GUESS WHAT?!…. YOU DON’T NEED TO BE A SLAVE TO ANY OF IT!

You have the power within you to conquer whatever it is even though weakness is hard, but it doesn’t have to mean defeat.

Come on guys! It’s not always an easy battle to win but know that you are MADE FOR MORE! 

Image

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

