A body more than sexy

image

You are so intricate, so perfect, so whole and wonderfully made. There is nothing you can do or not do for Him to notice you any differently.

Psalm 139

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
16 You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.
17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
They cannot be numbered!
18 I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand!
And when I wake up,
you are still with me!

Today with our girls we got to take some time to share one of my favorite truths in the bible.  Each girl got a chance to read this and get creative with drawing, writing, or coloring on a bookmark where they will always remember this.  I was incredibly amazed by the talent and artistic creativity in each of them.  It was so neat to see what inspired each one.

Keeping this truth in mind, all of us girls, once again, went on the rooftop where we got to lead them through a couple yoga sequences to some fun worship tunes.  It was so awesome to see them participate as if they have been doing yoga for years. To see them moving their bodies in the way that God designed them to move and breathe was priceless.  We got to shout from the rooftop thanking God for another day and thanking Him for the design He created.  We wouldn’t be able to do anything if it weren’t for Him.

I know these girls have never experienced anything like it.

We know these girls love to dance.  So guess what…for the last 15 minutes of our time together we turned on the song, “no woman no cry”, originally by Bob Marley, but another version.  We kept adding more 8 counts as we got into a hip hop song. Oh my goodness, I wish you could have seen how much fun and laughter that was filling that rooftop!

The important thing we want our girls to know is that it’s ok to move, it’s ok to dance, it’s ok to do yoga; it doesn’t have to mean that its only for “sex” or to “be sexy” but that you have a body that is worth something.  God created you.  Lets be a kid again, lets giggle as we move our body in ways we never have before, lets see it as an innocent thing and restore what has been stolen from them.

Can’t wait for another day tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Asia, Faith, Healthy Living, Sex Trafficking, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

