Can Your Dream Really Be So Small?

 

swazionmountain

You see, sometimes our dreams can be stripped away from us to enter into the calling God has for us.

You know, when I was a little girl I would sit listening to cassette tapes with a pen and notebook in hand writing about my dreams.  I would do all my friends hair and make-up because it would make them feel beautiful.  This is what made me feel beautiful.  Then when I would exercise at the gym with my friends and watch them feel better, have more energy and we would look great, that made me excited.  All I wanted to do seemed like I wanted to help people look and feel good. My mom being from Spain, and myself growing up there I always had a desire to travel the world, to experience other cultures and explore.  I told myself I wouldn’t just look at picture books but I would experience them myself.

So, when an opportunity came to move to Los Angeles, California opened up I thought I was ready to take on my dream.  This was it. City of Angels.  Photoshoots, Fashion Runway, high-end celebrity hair. Training people on their fitness journey on the beach of Santa Monica. Cali dreamin became a reality. Riding my beach cruiser watching the surfers everyday. Really, I was living my dream.

Then my dream seamed to slip from my fingertips.  I questioned God because I thought I was so faithful because I followed this dream. I felt like I had a break up with God. He was my best friend yet felt like I was being left in the dust.  I cried out in tears like never before because I didn’t understand.  It felt like a punishment.

For a while I felt like he was taking my dreams away while it brought me to a place of surrender- for the first time in my life.  He reminded me on the beach one night, “Be still and know that I AM GOD.” 

Right in that moment I felt like everything was going to be ok.  It was clear to me that the dreams I had were small compared to the CALL He had for my life.  It seems that when we think we are giving our 100% to God we really are still trying to hold onto something; some sort of control for our dreams.

I realized that my dreams were cool and all, but they were too small for what I am called to create.  It’s so dang easy to hang onto specific visions or relationships that we have for ourselves.

Over the past few years I have realized that every single time I have a dream that bursts inside of my spirit, it stays only a dream until I fully surrender- until I let go of my own desires of what it exactly looks like.  You know- God cares about your dreams, He cares about all of your desires.  More than your dreams, He wants ALL of you.  He wants you to know that as you dream those dreams, that as you surrender them to God, you will see those dreams manifest as you become obedient and say “yes” to what He calls you to now, not to what he calls you to a year from now.

I can tell you from experience- the dreams of being a little girl and wanting to make people feel and look beautiful on the inside and out, and to travel the world has turned into a far bigger dream than I could ever imagine. Day by day, it becomes more and more clear.  It is only by God that getting to bring beauty, healing, love and adventure literally to the world is now not just a dream- it is far bigger than I could ever dream of and if He has brought me this far, then I can’t even fathom what sort of plan he has in store next- yet I know it is BIG and exciting!

He uses our talents, gifts and passions to use us to fulfill His mission to this world. Step out in who you are, discover those hidden gifts because you have a huge calling a purposeful life!

I had a dream for my own life, but God has a dream for the world. As we are willing we can step into it.

This is the exciting part.

What is the calling you are stepping into?

This entry was posted in Faith, Healthy Living, hope, Love, Motivation, Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

